Biosafety Manual

10 Biosafety Manual B. Recombinant or Synthetic Nucleic Acid Molecules, Human, Animal, and Plant Pathogens, Biological Toxins: Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) must approve any teaching or research project that involves: • Recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules, including transgenic animals or plants. • Human, animal, or plant pathogens (such as bacteria, viruses, fungi, prions, or parasites). • Toxins of biological origin (such as tetanus toxin or aflatoxin). • Administration of experimental biological products to animals. • Field releases of plant pests or genetically modified organisms. The IBC is administered by the Office of Research Ethics (ORE). The IBC was established under the NIH Guidelines, and its authority is derived from federal regulations and from the Iowa State University Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost. The IBC is appointed by the Vice President for Research, as one of the standing committees of the university. The committee serves as campus authority in all matters involving recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules studies as required by the Federal Register, May 7, 1986, vol.51, #88, pages 16958-16985, and subsequent guidelines which supersede earlier versions. The committee also reviews projects involving other hazardous biological materials. Compliance with the NIH Guidelines is important to promote the safe conduct of research involving recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules. Compliance with the NIH Guidelines is mandatory as a condition of receiving NIH funding. Institutions that fail to comply risk suspension, limitation, or termination of financial assistance for noncompliant NIH projects and risk NIH funding for other recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules research at the Institution. It is also possible the institution would have to obtain prior NIH approval for any recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules projects. The IBC is composed of several experts including bacteriologists, entomologists, plant pathologists, diagnostic laboratory virologists, the university biosafety officer, laboratory technicians, zoonotic disease experts, public health experts, and two non-institutional members.